Mott The Hoople drummer and David Bowie collaborator Dale Griffin dies

By Staff.

Jan 18, 2016 2:03 PM

Dale Griffin has died at the age of 67, The Mirror UK reports.

The rocker was a founding member of Mott The Hoople, a band best known for classic hits “Roll Away The Stone” and “All The Young Dudes,” which was written and produced by the late David Bowie.

RELATED: David Bowie‘s Son Shares Heartbreaking Letter From Hospice Doctor

According to Angel Air Records representative Peter Purnell, Griffin died Sunday night in his sleep. He was “one of the nicest, friendliest, most talented men I’ve ever known,” Purnell said. “All he ever wanted was for his beloved Mott The Hoople to get back together and it was his determination that achieved that feat in 2009, but unfortunately by then he was too ill to perform on all five sold-out dates – although he joined the band for encores.”;

In the late 1960s, Griffin joined vocalist Stan Tippens, keyboardist Verden Allen, guitarist Mick Ralphs and bassist Peter Overend Watts to form Silence – a band that would be renamed Mott the Hoople after Willard Manus’ 1966 novel.

RELATED: David Bowie‘s Swan Song “Blackstar” Debuts at No. 1

Bowie, who convinced the group to stay together, gave them his song “Suffragette City”; from his upcoming album Ziggy Stardust, but the band turned it down after wanting “Drive-in Saturday”; Instead.

The late rock legend went on to pen the band’s biggest hit “All The Young Dudes,” released in 1972. Listen to the single below.

Previous Members of Roxy Music and The Clash form a supergroup
Next Mott the Hoople drummer Dale 'Buffin' Griffin dead at 67